Step Up 2: The Streets – Original Soundtrack (Various Artists)

stepup2.jpg

Trust me. I know what you’re thinking because I was there. We all know it’s perfectly acceptable to have heard the Dreamgirls soundtrack but still, you’re not 16 and you definitely have no intention of seeing Step Up 2. You’re wondering what your friends are going to think when you bust out the OST. All I can say is: let me talk to ‘em.

This soundtrack is a surprising album already toting five singles including the leadoff smash “Low” by Flo Rida featuring T-Pain and “Ching-A-Ling” by Missy “Misdemeanor” Elliot. Missy’s return, which began with her production on Keyshia Cole’s “Let It Go”, is officially stamped with her own banger “Shake Your Pom Pom”. This is possibly the best song on the CD because of the beat and phenomenal lyrics:

Okay lil’ boy wanna boost my esteem
I said you need a rehab ‘cause you look like a fiend
Don’t wanna start a scene, I ain’t tryna be mean and even if you spend your green you can’t get in between
Cause this hear queen keep her nookie real clean and like a diamond ring bling
To you I’m just a wet dream

The great 1-2 punch is followed up next by Cherish, the sister group from Atlanta, who really opened my eyes and ears with their ability to sing on this up-tempo track “Killa” featuring Yung Joc. Although they truly benefit from superb production and impeccable guest raps, I’m starting to believe in the group’s staying power. After hearing this track, I’m going to give the Cherish album its fair listen and at worst, it will give me the opportunity to play out “Do It to It” again. Be on the lookout.

Back to Step Up 2, the pattern of great party tracks is mixed up nicely by a couple of smoother songs on the disc. I can’t say enough about Trey Song’s “Can’t Help but Wait”, a love track that hasn’t left my rotation since I first heard it last November. Just the opposite, Enrique’s “Push” is now getting more exposure to a wider audience with this album despite Mirza’s marketing efforts of the Lil’ Wayne remix last summer.

These two tracks were definitely pleasant surprises to hear but if your thinking was in line with the intro paragraph, you may want to skip the Cassie, Brit & Alex, and Montana Tucker tracks in order to prevent being called a teeny-bopper. Please do me a favor though and listen to “Lives in the Club” by Sophia Fresh featuring Jay Liriq. It is my humble opinion that this may have well been sung by Rihanna and T-Pain. With that kind of star power and improved production, I have no doubt in my mind that this song would be a ridiculous hit even if the lyrics stayed the exact same. Thoughts?

Overall, The Step Up 2 OST features a great compilation of popular music that will bring a lot of fun and dancing to your crew. It’s the perfect party CD to have bang throughout the night and chances are you probably already have some of it.

Favorite Songs: “Girl You Know” – Scarface featuring Trey Songs, “Low” – Flo Rida Featuring T-Pain, “Shake Your Pom Pom” – Missy Elliot, “Can’t Help but Wait” – Trey Songs.

 

Final Review: Minus the tracks mentioned, the CD is a must own. Hop on Itunes and download the tracks that you don’t already own.

4 Responses to “Step Up 2: The Streets – Original Soundtrack (Various Artists)”

  1. now thats what im talking about….pimmp

  2. Got a qustion do you know what song it is after the potion in the 410:s dance? it sounds like a little bit of techno and I can’t find it >.< please an answer would be great

  3. thanxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx alo man

  4. Timbaland- Bounce

Leave a comment